## Executive Committee of the Graduate Faculty Council

## MINUTES

## September 1, 2010 Whetten Graduate Center – Giolas Conference Room 3:00 PM

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:03 P.M. Interim Dean Lee Aggison presided.
- 2. L. Aggison introduced Carolyn Lin, newly-appointed Associate Dean of the Graduate School.
- 3. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve the minutes of May 5, 2010. T. Peters noted that he will correct the date of the meeting at the top of the page.
- 4. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve the list of Plans of Study and Dissertation Proposals.
- 5. The proposal presented at the last meeting by Associate Dean of Nursing Regina Cusson was considered. The proposal seeks to modify the current Doctor of Nursing Practice degree program to permit students holding bachelor's degrees to enroll. Following brief discussion, it was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve the proposal as presented.
- 6. It was agreed to call a meeting of the Graduate Faculty Council (GFC) for September 15, 2010. There was discussion about having a moderator for GFC meetings and about the election of the GFC Secretary. It was determined that J. G. Clifford will serve as Moderator for the Fall 2010 semester.

There also was discussion about reinstating standing committees of the GFC. It was agreed that standing committee members could be from the Graduate Faculty at large, but the chairs of the standing committees should always be members of GFC. It further was agreed that matters could be referred to the standing committees by the Dean, the GFC, or by the GFC Executive Committee. Standing committees also could take up matters on their own. Standing committees would produce annual reports. Standing committee charges should be developed by the GFC Executive Committee and then be approved by the GFC as a whole.

There was considerable discussion about the process to select standing committee chairs and to form the reinstated standing committees. S. Hewett recommended the formation of an *ad hoc* committee on infrastructure. Following further discussion, S. De Guise recommended that an *ad hoc* committee on committees be formed. The group reached a consensus to do so, and W. Abikoff and J. G. Clifford agreed to serve on the *ad hoc* committee on committees. S. Hewett suggested that there be a call for nominations from the GFC floor and that the Executive Committee appoint a standing committee chair in the absence of an elected individual. There was general agreement on this point. It further was agreed that standing committee chairs should come from the GFC but not from the GFC Executive Committee.

M. Aindow reported for the *ad hoc* Graduate Faculty Appointment and Reappointment Committee. The standing GFC policy adopted in 1990 was found to be largely acceptable with minor modifications.

It was agreed to place these items on the agenda for the September 15<sup>th</sup> GFC meeting.

- 7. It was noted that the results of the NRC rankings of doctoral programs are to be released on September 28, 2010.
- 8. Adjournment was at 4:50 PM.
- Present: W. Abikoff, M. Aindow, J. Barnes-Farrell, J. G. Clifford, S. De Guise, S. Hewett, L. Aggison (Interim Dean), C. Lin (Associate Dean), L. Klobutcher (Associate Dean), and T. Peters (Program Director)

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas B. Peters

Program Director