Executive Committee of the Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

May 4, 2011 Whetten Graduate Center – Giolas Conference Room 3:00 PM

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:08 P.M. Interim Dean Lee A. Aggison, Jr. presided.
- 2. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of the meeting of April 6, 2011.
- 3. Members considered a proposal from the Neag School of Education to consolidate the existing Fields of Study (FOSs) of Educational Technology and Special Education into the current Field of Study of Educational Psychology and to merge the Sixth Year Certificate Programs in Cognition and Instruction and Educational Technology into a single Sixth Year Certificate Program to be called Cognition, Instruction, and Learning Technology. Under FOS Educational Psychology, the proposal adds Areas of Concentration (AOCs) in Educational Technology and Special Education. Proposed also is changing the name of the Cognition and Instruction AOC to Cognition, Instruction, and Learning Technology. Neag School of Education Assistant Dean Yuhang Rong explained the proposal and responded to questions.

Following discussion with Rong, it was **moved** (W. Abikoff), seconded (S. De Guise), and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve the proposal as presented.

4. A proposal from the Department of Allied Health to implement a Professional Science Master's Program in Health Care Genetics was considered. Dr. Judy Brown was present to explain the proposal and respond to questions.

Following discussion with Brown, it was **moved** (S. De Guise), seconded (S. Hewett), and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve the proposal as presented.

- 5. Members considered a proposal from the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering to split the Civil and Environmental Engineering voting constituency of the Graduate Faculty Council to create separate Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering constituencies. Following brief discussion, it was **moved** (W. Abikoff), seconded (S. Hewett), and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to refer the broader issue for review to the Infrastructure GFC Standing Committee (when constituted).
- 6. It was agreed that a meeting of the Graduate Faculty Council will not be called at this time.
- 7. L. Aggison updated members concerning the following:
 - Administrative approval and implementation of a contract with Hobsons for new graduate admissions software should be finalized soon.
 - A proposal for an embargo period of up to six years concerning the publication of doctoral dissertations appears to concerned parties to be reasonable and that GFC members will soon vote via e-mail (as agreed at the April GFC meeting) on required electronic submission of dissertations and provisions for optional embargo.
- 8. S. Hewett noted that she will be leaving UConn this summer to accept an endowed chair at Syracuse University. Members thanked her for her service and wished her well in her new position.
- 9. Adjournment was at 4:28 PM.

Present: W. Abikoff, M. Aindow, J. Barnes-Farrell, J. G. Clifford, S. De Guise, S. Hewett, J. Marsden, S. Nunnally, L. Aggison (Interim Dean), C. Lin (Associate Dean), B. Kream (Associate Dean), and T. Peters (Program Director)

Respectfully submitted, Thomas B. Peters Program Director