Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

April 18, 2007 Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200 3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:04 P.M. by Associate Vice Provost James G. Henkel.
- 2. It was moved, seconded, and passed without dissent on a voice vote to approve the minutes of the meeting of March 21, 2007.
- 3. J. Henkel introduced Brinley Franklin, Vice Provost of Libraries, who addressed the Council of the Topics of the Digital Commons and about author amendments to copyright agreements. With Franklin were Carolyn Mills and Jonathan Nabe, Babbidge Library staff members who are very involved in these areas. Franklin explained that the Digital Commons is an important venue for disseminating scholarly material because of the fact that inflation has made many journals and other publications prohibitively expensive. He also called attention to an author's amendment that members of the University of Connecticut can use to retain certain copyrights when making arrangements with scholarly publishers.

Franklin called attention to the text of a resolution that had been considered and adopted in 2004 by the University Senate. The resolution encourages faculty, staff, and graduate students to use the author's amendment when publishing and to deposit with the Digital Commons electronic versions of all papers, articles, and other forms of scholarly output. D. Cournoyer **moved** that the resolution be edited and presented for endorsement at the next meeting of the Graduate Faculty Council. The motion was seconded and it **passed** without dissent on a voice vote.

F. Nichols recommended that the same presentation be made at the Health Center.

- 4. J. Henkel announced that G. Anderson has made two recent appointments to the Executive Committee: David Cournoyer from the School of Social Work and Mary Anne Doyle from the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. Both are for three-year terms ending January 31, 2010.
- 5. J. Henkel reported that all preparatory work for the National Research Council's assessment of doctoral programs has been completed and that all deadlines were met. He noted that the student questionnaires in the five areas being studied (i.e., chemical engineering, economics, English, neuroscience, and physics) are still being completed and submitted.
- 6. There was no report from the Graduate Student Senate.
- 7. John DeWolf, Chair of the Senate Executive Committee, reported on recent Senate activities. Topics included: the Dubai initiative, UConn 21st Century, the classroom building being planned to replace Arjona and Monteith, Senate representation on the Buildings and Grounds Committee (Karla Fox and William Stwalley), faculty travel (G. Anderson provided information for Senate consideration), class attendance, and the PTR process at the regional campuses vis-à-vis Storrs. DeWolf noted that the membership of the Senate Executive Committee includes six faculty members, a professional staff member, and a student. He also noted that the Senate is well represented on the Presidential Search Committee and its Steering Committee (DeWolf and Gary English).
- 8. It was reported that two names were submitted recently by the Graduate School in response to the Provost's request to the deans for nominations for the Outstanding Woman Student Award program. The decision to nominate two students was prompted by the large number of students and the diversity of academic programs represented by the Graduate School. An M.B.A. student and a doctoral student in Physics were nominated.
- 9. Members considered a revised draft of the proposed *Grievance Procedure for Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows*. E. Schultz noted that the document should be symmetrical in terms of offering rights and the opportunity to seek redress to faculty members as well. In such cases, it was noted that the composition of the hearing committee would have to be modified. It was agreed to modify the title and the draft document accordingly. There also was discussion about the enforcement of the final conclusions that are reached as a result of the grievance process and the need to be clear about the ownership of intellectual property, especially in terms of grant-supported research. These edits will be incorporated, and the final version will be presented for approval in the Fall.

- 10. G. Anderson announced that member Joseph Madaus had recently received an AAUP teaching award that was presented at the State Capitol and that Gerald Maxwell will be taking on a new role in the School of Medicine and will no longer be serving as Associate Dean of the Graduate School (Health Center).
- 11. Adjournment was at 4:45 P.M.
- Present: A. Albert, T. Blank, H. Brody, J. G. Clifford, D. Cournoyer, S. De Guise, M-L. Fernandez, J. Glaz, W. Glenn, J. Kaminski, J. Madaus, P. Neafsey (alt), F. Nichols, G. Robbins, M. Rubio, M. Rudnicki, C. Schaefer, E. Schultz, A. Shvartsman, W. Smith (alt), C.A. VanLear, W. Villemez (alt), Bi Zhang G. Anderson (*Vice Provost*), J. Henkel (*Associate Vice Provost*), and T. Peters (*Program Director*)
- *Regrets:* M. Accorsi, M. Bernstein, J. Bourbeau, C. Clark, A. Frogley, D. Lillo-Martin, L. Strausbaugh, P. Streifer, K. Venkitanarayanan

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas B. Peters Program Director