Graduate Faculty Council

MINUTES

April 20, 2011 Hugh Clark Meeting Room -- Whetten Graduate Center, Room 200 3:00 P.M.

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:05 P.M. Moderator J. Garry Clifford presided.
- 2. J. G. Clifford, speaking as a member of the Graduate Faculty Council (GFC), moved the adoption of the following resolution:

Resolved: The Graduate Faculty Council expresses its profound gratitude to Lee A. Aggison, Jr. for his exemplary leadership as Interim Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School for the past two-and-a-half years. We hope that he will remain a member of the GFC during his future tenure at the University.

The motion was seconded and it **passed** without dissent on a voice vote.

- 3. It was **moved**, seconded, and **passed** without dissent on a voice vote to approve as distributed the minutes of the meeting of March 16, 2011.
- 4. D. Doran reported for the Graduate Student Senate (GSS). He noted that the GSS recently had adopted the following resolution:

Whereas, The workflow efficiency of the Ph.D. dissertation system can be increased by electronic submission; and *Whereas*, Graduate students may desire the visibility provided by ProQuest; therefore be it

Resolved, That the Graduate Student Senate recommends a transition of the dissertation submission system into the DigitalCommons system and the library provide assistance to students who may wish to submit their dissertations to ProQuest on an opt-in basis.

5. Michael Bennett, University Librarian, was present to respond to any questions that members may have had concerning electronic submission of dissertations. Discussion ensued. It was noted that an embargo option should be included in the new electronic-submission process to address the concerns of students planning to pursue publication of their work post degree conferral.

It was **moved** (E. Markus) to implement electronic submission of dissertations through open access – i.e., DigitalCommons. The motion was seconded. As a result of discussion, it was agreed by consensus that Michael Bennett will draft the motion (in consultation with T. Peters) for an electronic vote (i.e, via e-mail) to be completed one month hence.

S. Winter moved to table the matter, and the motion to table was seconded. The motion to table lost on a hand vote.

The original motion to implement electronic submission of dissertations – with the details to be drafted by Michael Bennett – then would be presented to the membership via e-mail for an electronic vote to be completed by May 20, 2011. The original motion **passed** without dissent on a voice vote.

- 6. L. Aggison presented the Annual Report of the Graduate School for AY 2010-11 via PowerPoint. He noted that goals for the future include:
 - Linking key graduate student and graduate program websites to the Graduate School website
 - Conducting graduate student exit interviews and alumni surveys to collect data concerning post-UConn activities, training, and employment
 - Providing professional development workshops for graduate students and Post-Docs
 - Developing digital workflow processes with UITS
 - Enhancing Post-Doc support services.

Aggison thanked members for the resolution passed earlier in the meeting.

- 7. There was no new business.
- 8. Adjournment was at 4:10 PM.

2

Present: W. Abikoff, E. Anagnostou, D. Atkin, J. Barnes-Farrell, JC Beall, J. G. Clifford (Moderator), J. Cole, V. Cormier, S. Demurjian, D. Doran, G. Dunne, G. Elliott (alt), A. Engler (alt), A. Farrell (alt), M-L. Fernandez, A. Frogley (alt), R. Gross, W. Kraemer, L. Lewis, J. Loss, E. Markus, J. Marsden, G. McManus, S. Missari, C. Parks, R. Parnas, L. Puddington, B. Purkayastha, R. Rockwell, K. Ryker, J. Settlage, Y. Sharvit (alt), R. Srivastava (alt), K. Venkitanarayanan, P. Verardi, S. Winter; S. Nunnally (Executive Committee); and L. Aggison (Interim Vice Provost and Dean), C. Lin (Associate Dean), B. Kream (Associate Dean-Health Center), and T. Peters (Program Director)

Speaker: Michael Bennett, University Librarian

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas B. Peters

Program Director